<< First  < Prev   1   2   Next >  Last >> 
  • January 14, 2016 9:28 AM | Anonymous

    Dr. Colleen Mercurio, principal of Cedar Hill Elementary, was invited to the second Make It In Rhode Island Summit as a past president for the Rhode Island Association of School Principals. The summit, hosted by Governor Gina Raimondo, brings together some of the state’s business, legislative and education leaders to try and tackle some of the issues facing the state.

    Dr. Mercurio said that summits like this one have the potential to make  positive impacts on Rhode Island.

    For the full story, click here.
  • December 03, 2015 12:11 PM | Anonymous

    At a surprise ceremony in the Cumberland High School auditorium, Principal Alan Tenreiro received the NASSP 2016 National Principal of the Year plaque from Michael Allison, NASSP President.

    Marking the significance of the event were comments by Governor Raimondo, Lt. Gov. McKee, Senator Reed, Rep. Cicilline, Commissioner Wagner, Board of Education Chair Cottam, and Cumberland Supt. Thornton.  Soon to be superintendent, Bob Mitchell, served as master of ceremonies. During the ceremony, a phone call from U.S. Secretary of Education Duncan was broadcast for all to hear.

    Principal Tenreiro was able to share this memorable event with a large group of family members including his wife, son and daughter, his sister and parents.  A number of local dignitaries were joined in the auditorium by the CHS senior class - the class Mr. Tenreiro entered CHS with.

    RIASP is exceptionally proud that one of our own, and a RIASP Board member, has received this well-deserved recognition. As was pointed out at the ceremony, there are over 100,000 secondary schools across America and Rhode Island has the best principal of them all.

<< First  < Prev   1   2   Next >  Last >> 

UPDATED: October 8, 2017

© 2015 Rhode Island Association of School Principals

Rhode Island Association of School Principals is a 501(c) 6 Non-Profit Organization



401-272-9811 ext. 2 

Donald Rebello, Executive Director 

Sherry Arlia-Puhacz, Adm. Asst. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software